FAQ FROM GUN WORLD ON
HOW TO BUY A GUN - HOW TO OWN A GUN
HOW TO TRANSPORT A GUN
HOW TO BUY AMMO
Click a Question!
1.What is the minimum legal age to purchase a firearm in California?
(a). 21 years of age for ANY firearm - rifles, shotguns and handguns
2. What is the waiting period for firearm purchases in California?
(a). 10 days, calculated as ten, consecutive, 24-hour periods commencing with the initiation of the DROS process. At Gun World you will receive a copy of the DROS, which will have highlighted the exact time and date after which you may pick up your firearm purchase.
3. What is the DROS process?
(a). DROS stands for Dealer Record of Sale. It is the system used by the California Dept. of Justice wherein background checks are conducted for purchasers of firearms. It is also the method by which handgun sales registration information is obtained.
4. Who is prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms in California?
(a). Persons convicted of felonies or certain misdemeanors, persons addicted to narcotics, persons adjudicated to be mentally defective, and persons who are under the restrictions of a temporary restraining order (domestic violence) are amongst the persons who may not purchase or possess firearms. A very specific list of felony and misdemeanor offenses that prohibit firearms ownership is available for review at any licensed dealer.
5. What are the additional requirements necessary for purchasing a firearm?
(a). Firearms purchasers must possess a Firearm Safety Certificate (or qualifying exemption), provide evidence of residency, (utility bill or current matching car registration), a valid CA driver's license or State I.D. and perform a Safe Handling Demonstration.
A. How does one obtain a Firearm Safety Certificate?
(a). By successfully passing the written FSC test. The test consists of 30 questions; passing scores are 23 answers correct or more. Study booklets are available for free online, here. The test may be taken during normal store hours and upon purchase of a firearm. The HSC is valid for 5 years from date of issuance.
B. What documents are necessary to show evidence of residency?
(b). Utility bills from within the last 90 days, property deeds, permanent military station orders, lease or rental agreements, or government issued permits, licenses or registrations are acceptable proofs of residency that meet the CA DOJ requirements. (NOTE- alien residents must also provide a green card.) Additional requirements and documentation are required for non-immigrant aliens (please call for specifics).
C. What is the Safe Handling Demonstration?
(c). The Safe Handling Demonstration is a set of firearm handling skills that must be performed by the purchaser with the gun they are purchasing or with a gun of the same model as the one that is being purchased. The skills include checking that the handgun is empty, unlocking it, loading it with a dummy round, unloading it and relocking it. This demonstration is performed at the time of DROS. Prospective purchasers will sign an Affidavit, swearing knowledge of safe handling of the firearm being purchased.
6.Why do I have to buy a gunlock or trigger lock with the purchase of my gun?
State law requires this purchase unless the buyer shows proof of ownership of a DOJ approved safe or lockbox. If the firearm recipient claims an exception to the FSD (Firearms Safety Device) requirement due to ownership of a DOJ-approved lock box, a receipt for the DOJ-approved lock box will be required in all circumstances.
7. What if the gun I am purchasing comes with a gunlock, trigger lock or other safety device?
(a). If the device that comes with your gun is on the “approved” list, then you will not need to purchase another gunlock or cable.
8. Is there a limit to the number of firearms that a person can purchase at one time?
(a). California law limits the purchase of handguns to no more than one handgun transferred from a dealer to an individual within any 30-day period. Note - Firearms transferred between individuals, that are transacted through dealers, (known as Private Party Transfers), are exempt from the one-handgun-a-month restriction.
(b). California law does not limit the number of long guns (rifles or shotguns) purchased by one person or within any specific time period.
9. What does the expiration of the Federal Assault Weapons Ban mean for California Dealers or Gun Owners?
(a). For the most part, the expiration of the Federal Assault Weapons Ban does nothing to change California’s restrictions on the sale or possession of California designated “assault weapons” or high capacity magazines. As in other areas of firearms law, CA law supersedes Federal law.
10. I am selling my gun to a friend, how do I do it?
(a). Sales conducted between unlicensed individuals are called Private Party Transfers. PPTs must be brokered through licensed dealers. Both parties must be present at the time of the sale. The purchaser bears the cost of the transaction and must meet all of the qualifications as outlined above. The firearms will remain at Gun World during the 10-day waiting period (see question
11. Why are some models of handguns not legal for sale in California?
(a). CA law dictates that only those handguns deemed “not unsafe” and listed on the DOJ's "Approved" list may be sold in California. In order to be listed, handguns must be submitted to the state for testing. Not all manufacturers have submitted each of their models for testing by the state. Click here for a searchable list of DOJ "approved" handguns.
12.Buying & Selling Firearms
Gun World is Southern California’s premier firearms dealer. In addition to carrying the largest selection of new handguns, rifles and shotguns, Gun World offers the following services:
13.Private Party Transfers:
Are you selling a gun to a private party so that you can free up some cash for that brand new shotgun? We can help. State law dictates that dealers conduct transfers between non-licensed private parties. These transfers can be done at our store right here in the heart of Burbank. Keep in mind that both you and the party that you are selling to or buying from, must both be present. Buyers must meet all state mandated criteria with regards to residency and HSC certification criteria, etc. For your convenience, we recommend that you set an appointment in advance. All Private Party transactions will be subject to the waiting period and state and dealer fees.
Rules Specific to Gun World
a) Consignment Sales:
Don’t have the time to find a buyer for your gun? Are you nervous about advertising your used gun to strangers? Let us do the work for you. We can sell your used firearms on consignment. As Southern California’s premier firearms dealer, we can put your guns in front of discriminating buyers in order to get you top dollar for them.
b) We Buy Used Guns:
Do you want top dollar for your used gun today? Let us make you an offer. One gun, three guns or estate buying, we can work with you in order to get you the fairest possible deal and put cash in your hand today!.
c) Dealer to Dealer or FFL Transfers:
Are you looking for a dealer to help you receive that special family gun from your favorite uncle back east? Did you fall for that one-in-a-thousand gold engraved commemorative pistol? Are you passing along a gun to a family member out of state? We can help you out. We can assist in transferring your gun to another dealer and we can receive guns on your behalf. In addition to standard Cal DOJ DROS fees, additional freight and transfer fees will apply.